The Long and Short of it

Oh for the day, when people will say,
“Wow, how did you get so lean?”
I will blush and sigh, let a minute go by,
And say, “Oh please, say something you mean”

Inside me though, something will glow,
And light me up from outside,
But only I shall know, how it was to let go,
Of everything sweet, cheesy, or fried.

If nothing tastes as good as skinny feels,
Tell me, why does chocolate make me so joyful?
And if a perfect hourglass is all that appeals,
Does it mean curvy is not beautiful?

My “contagious” smile, quirky unique style,
And how I feel confident in my own skin,
Curvy or not, I have been the same all this while,
But all you see is that now I am thin…

I will be thinking all of this in my mind,
Fear not, aloud I won’t say a thing.
I will blush and sigh, let another minute go by,
And say, “Hey, why don’t you give me a ring?

“It’s been a while”, I’ll say with a smile,
Shaking your hands and saying goodbye,
You’ll smile and say, “Keep in touch okay?”
Oh, how I long for that day…

Leave a Reply

